Next Generation Design: MAF’s 2017 Scholarship Winners

With their vision, talent, and passion for the built environment, today’s architecture students will help shape tomorrow’s world.
Since 2001, Michigan Architectural Foundation (MAF) has awarded scholarships annually to architectural students completing their Bachelor’s Degree, or enrolled in a Master of Architecture degree program at a Michigan college or university. Each MAF scholarship defines criteria on which the student applicant is judged, including design excellence, community involvement, academic achievement, and/or financial need.
This year, MAF awarded more than $17,000 in scholarships to eight students working towards their dreams of becoming an architect:
  • Claire Antrassian, University of Detroit Mercy
  • Ellis Wills Begley, University of Michigan
  • Ashish Bhandari, University of Michigan
  • Brianna Campbell, Lawrence Technological University
  • Kyle DiMaggio, Lawrence Technological University
  • Bethany Gibson, University of Detroit Mercy
  • Jacob Klee, University of Detroit Mercy
  • Leonardo Orozco, University of Detroit Mercy
 “In addition to the strong portfolios and academic accomplishments of this year’s winners, the selection committee was impressed with how actively involved scholarship recipients are in their communities and student American Institute of Architects chapters,” said Tim Casai, chairman of the MAF Scholarship Committee.  “When students show the level of dedication that our scholarship winners have, it makes the future of the profession, and the impact the next generation of architects can have, very exciting indeed.”