MAF awards scholarships annually to students who are completing their Bachelor Degree program and who have been accepted or are currently enrolled in a professional program leading to a Master of Architecture degree. Money has been raised from many activities and sources over many years to underwrite these scholarships, and the five awards have been named for the primary donors and/or supporters.

The scholarship awards for 2018:

  • AIA Michigan President’s Scholarship ($5,600)
  • American Institute of Architect’s Scholarship ($1,500)
  • Kenneth Neumann Design Scholarship ($2,500 plus a summer internship with the firm Neumann/Smith Architecture in Southfield, MI)
  • Professional Concepts Insurance Agency Scholarship ($1,000)
  • HED Alvin Ernest Harley AIAS Graduate Scholarship ($1,000)
  • John Banicki Scholarship ($2,500)
  • Daniel W. Toshach & AIA Saginaw Valley Chapter Scholarship ($1,500)
  • Leslie D. Tincknell Scholarship ($1,500)
  • Richard M. and Sidney K. Robinson Scholarship ($3,500)

Each student applicant is required to submit a completed application form, a full college transcript, a personal statement describing leadership, design, or community accomplishments, a copy of the student’s design portfolio, three letters of reference, and a school cost and personal financial budget. The jury must take all information into consideration, but has discretion as to the weight of the categories of information.

Letters and posters are sent to all of the Schools of Architecture in Michigan to solicit applications from deserving students. The Deans are contacted to strengthen the communication between MAF and the schools.

Below are the different forms available, simply click them to download them.

The official Application Form must be received or postmarked by  April 1, 2018.