The Evans Graham Memorial Preservation Award

  • Promotes the practice of historic preservation
  • Gives encouragement and support to not-for-profit (501c3) community groups seeking to restore important resources
  • Showcases innovative solutions to specific preservation problems
  • Encourages architects to embrace preservation projects
  • Acknowledges the contribution of historic preservation architect, David Evans, FAIA

Criteria for the award

  • Preserve an historic property or artifact that may otherwise be lost.
  • Demonstrate a creative solution to a preservation problem; i.e., adaptive reuse
  • Benefit the community aesthetically and/or through increased visibility.
  • The award will leverage other funds and will contribute to the continued viability of the historic property.


The Evans – Graham Memorial Preservation Award: Seven Thousand Five Hundred dollars will be awarded for fees or hard costs of a preservation project located in Michigan.


The application must be submitted electronically on a computer disc mailed to the Michigan Architectural Foundation, 4219 Woodward Avenue,Suite 205, Detroit, MI 48201 (limited to five electronic pages, drawings and photos must be added as attachments, and must include the following):

  • Brief history of the requesting organization, including a statement of its capacity to fulfill the terms of the grant
  • Project description
  • Implementation plans
  • Project budget including other funding sources being approached for support of this project (provide a financial statement of the organization at the time of submission)
  • List of architects or licensed design professionals involved in the project (An architect member of the American Institute of Architects)
  • The cover page of IRS non-profit (501-C-3) status certification
  • Photographs, drawings or images sufficient to understand the scope of the project and its context.

Presentation / Payment

The successful organization will be honored during Preservation Month (May) at a ceremony jointly arranged by the recipient and the Michigan Architectural Foundation.

The disbursement of funds will be made during the construction on a mutually agreed schedule between the recipient and the Foundation.


  • March 23, 2017- Deadline for submission of electronic application
  • April 2017 – jury meets
  • May 19, 2017 – Award Presented at the Michigan Historic Preservation Network Conference in Detroit.

    Follow Up

    Grant recipients are required to provide a one page follow-up report one year after the award outlining specifically how the grant was used and the progress of the preservation project.


    Contact Michigan Architectural Foundation through Evelyn Dougherty at 313-965-4100 — or

    An application form and further information is available on line at the link below. Applicants may call the Foundation at 313-965-4100 with specific questions.

    Click here to print an application for the Evans – Graham Memorial Preservation Award.